The Hobin Prize in Architecture & City Building

February 14, 2020

The Hobin Prize in Architecture & City Building was recently awarded to Carleton University students in the fourth-year undergraduate studio at the Azrieli School of Architecture & Urbanism. First prize was awarded to Adam Achtenberg and Gregorius Erico for BY45, a project that envisions dense, transit-oriented residential development on the 7.8-acre site of the Ottawa Citizen building. Two second-prize awards were presented to Kim Langat and Ashlin Lithgow for Urban Theatre, as well as Yoyo Tang and Laura Ye for Piazza.

The new endowment, which was established in late 2019, is awarded annually by the Director of the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism, with recipients chosen on the basis of excellence in their fourth-year comprehensive studio project.

Left: Hobin Prize Recipients and Honourable Mentions; Right: Jurors Catherine Bonier and Barry Hobin

The jury, which included Barry Hobin (founding partner), Gordon Lorimer (partner), and Marc Thivierge (director), also recognized three other projects for their innovative ways of imagining the city by proposing new forms of urban housing.

It fills us with pride to bolster our community through this ongoing commendation of talent and hard work.

Read more on the school’s newsfeed.

Recent News